Our deparment well-represented at ESB2015 in Kraków

Department of Biomaterials was well-presented at the 27th European Conference on Biomaterials held in Poland from 30th August to 3rd September.

Hanna Tiainen chairing a session on antimicrobial surface modifications together with Prof. Miroslawa El Fray and Prof. Dieter Scharnweber.

Group of five researchers from the Department of Biomaterials travelled to Kraków to present research results and to participate in the scientific discussions at the 27th European Conference on Biomaterials.

The department was represented with four posters by David Wiedmer, Sebastian Geissler, Manuel Schweikle and Hanna Tiainen showing research results on both antimicrobial properties of TiO2 and titanium surfaces modified with antibiotic molecules as well as the characterisation of synthetic peptides. In addition, Hanna and Professor Håvard Haugen chaired sessions on antimicrobial materials and surface modification of biomaterials. As the president of the Scandinavian Society for Biomaterials, Håvard also attended the meeting of all the European national Societies for Biomaterials.

The ESB2015 conference was organised by our collaboration partners from the AGH University of Science and Technology and the trip to Kraków was partially funded by FSS-EEA grants for staff training mobility. The presented research results were connected to ongoing research projects funded by the Eureka Eurostars programme and Research Council of Norway.

Tags: ESB2015, Dieter Scharnweber, antibacterial, antibakterielle stoffe
Published Sep. 3, 2015 6:16 PM - Last modified June 22, 2021 1:42 PM