Merits at the Department of Biomaterials

The Department of Biomaterials has succeeded in attracting considerable funding and acknowledgment over the last few years. The department has coordinated a 2.8 million Euro EU founded project on development of stable extracellular matrices as novel biotherapeutics for biomimetic induction of hard tissue growth. When contracted this EU project was the single largest EU funded project ever at the University of Oslo.

We are currently coordinating a 2.1 million Euro project (NewBone) granted by the Eureka-Eurostars program. Furthermore, the department is and cooperating closely with university academics in the US, UK, Germany, Australia and Japan.

In addition, the senior researchers at department of biomaterials have long experience in working with industrial partners. Over the last five years a large industrial development project on fluoride ion implantation of the surface dioxide layer of titanium has been partly carried out by researchers at the department. Today, the department has on-going projects with a major implant manufacturer in Europe (Straumann AG), and with a biotech company in Malmö, Sweden specializing in manufacturing and marketing extracellular matrices for bone regeneration (Biora AB).

Dissertations at the Section of Biomaterials




  • David Wiedmer - TiO2 dark catalysis in biomedical applications
  • Sebastian Geissler - Surface functionalization of dental implants for improved biological response and reduced infection risk


  • Rivan Sidaly - The role of hypoxia on the formation of dental enamel: a clinical, an experimental animal, and a cell study
  • Anders Verket - On surface coatings of titanium-based bone graft materials
  • Benjamin Müller - Bone-mimetic TiO2 scaffolds with improved corrosion resistance 
  • Oscar Villa - Wound healing promoting agents in oral and periodontal surgical procedures


  • Helen PullisaarBioinspired ceramic TiO2 scaffolds for bone tissue engineering


  • Rui Xing - Enhanced soft tissue integration through abutment surface modification



  • Christiane Petzold - UV-induced functionalization of titanium surfaces with a polyunsaturated fatty acid for improved performance of temporary bone fixation devices
  • Johan Caspar Wohlfahrt - On the use of titanium based materials as non-resorbable bone substitutes


  • Elisabeth Aurstad Riksen - Effects of epigenetic and environmental factors on biomineralization
  • Margareth V Tamburstuen - Ameloblastin in mesenchymal cells A study on expression, regulation and putative function of ameloblastin in bone related cells


  • Sebastien Taxt-Lamolle - Surface structure, chemistry and bio-performance of titanium implants modified by hydrofluoric acid
  • Roya Sabetrasekh - Bone cell growth in artificial scaffolds; the importance of 3D growth, scaffold architecture and surface chemistry


  • Student award for outstanding poster presentation at the 30th Symposium and Annual Meeting of the International Society for Ceramics in Medicine in Nagoya 2018 to Anne Klemm for her poster Grain boundary corrosion in Sr and Ca doped TiO2 bone scaffolds
  • S. Petter Lyngstadaas received the ScSB research award in recognition of his ground-breaking achievements that have advanced the field of biomaterials at the annual meeting of the Scandinavian Society for Biomaterials (ScSB2018) in Sweden 
  • His Majesty the King's Gold Medal 2017 awarded to Anders Verket for his PhD thesis: On surface coatings of titanium-based bone graft material
  • His Majesty the King's Gold Medal 2015 awarded to Hanna Tiainen for her PhD thesis: Ceramic TiO2 scaffolds for bone repair
  • Best poster award at the 8th Annual Meeting of the Scandinavian Society of Biomaterials in Sigulda 2015 to Sandra Recklies for her poster Antibacterial sol-gel coating of ceramic TiO2 scaffolds for bone regeneration by Sandra Recklies, David Wiedmer, Cedric Bossard, and Hanna Tiainen
  • European Biomaterials and Tissue Engineering Doctoral Award granted to Hanna Tiainen by the European Society for Biomaterials at ESB2014 in Liverpool
  • Best poster award at the 7th Annual Meeting of the Scandinavian Society of Biomaterials in Århus 2014 to David Wiedmer for his poster Antibacterial and antioxidant TiO2 scaffolds for bone regeneration by David Wiedmer, Hanna Tiainen, and Håvard J. Haugen
  • His Majesty the King's Gold Medal 2013 awarded to Christiane Petzold for her PhD thesis: UV-induced functionalization of titanium surfaces with a polyunsaturated fatty acid for improved performance of temporary bone fixation devices
  • The Norwegian Dental Association's award for teaching and research 2012 to Johan Caspar Wohlfahrt
  • His Majesty the King's Gold Medal 2011 awarded to Sebastian Taxt-Lamolle for his PhD thesis: Surface structure, chemistry and bio performance of titanium implants modified by hydrofluoric acid
  • Oral Presentation Award 2011 from The Nordic Young Scientist Conference in Dentistry 2011 to Matthias Frank (see interview)
  • NOF Hatton Award 2010 for their study: Porous titanium granules in furcation defects- an animal experimental study by J.C. Wohlfart, H.J.Ronold, A.M.Aass, L. Heijl and S.P. Lyngstadaas
  • German innovation award for 2009 (Innovationspreis 2009 der Deutschen BioRegionen) to Håvard Haugen, together with co-workers Dr. Aigner, Dr. Perea and Mrs Hofner
  • University of Oslo Innovation Prize 2008 to Håvard Haugen, S.P. Lyngstadaas, Jan Eirik Ellingsen and Sébastien Taxt-Lamolle
Tags: department of biomaterials, Biomaterials, awards, Innovation Prize
Published June 27, 2012 11:56 AM - Last modified May 12, 2019 4:27 PM